Sure Thing!

12/07/2020

My parents told me the only sure things in life were death and taxes. But, there is only one sure thing in our lives this month and that is, Christmas is Coming! This is what I have heard lately in regards to Christmas presents. There are so many parcels being shipped in the world that the shippers don't know if every gift will be delivered on time. Case in point, I ordered something for Deborah and had an email telling me it would be here by Dec 2. Sounded great to me and I was very pleased that it would come so soon.

That was until I received an update on Thursday saying it will arrive on or before Thursday Dec 10th. I am not sure any more. It may show up Thursday Dec 17th. I don't think anyone knows anymore. I'll keep you posted. You might be able to get it on time if you pay a hefty price in shipping costs for next day delivery. And if you have been listening, they say if you don't have your 'on line purchases' in the 'bag' before Dec. 11, it's not going to get to you by Dec. 25th.

I have a sneaking suspicion that there is little in our 'modern, new normal world' that is a sure thing. Life proves more and more that this change in society is confirming this reality. I'll give you another example. When I first arrived at my very first church position I was told all you have to do is show up. That first Sunday, it was true. I just showed up and everyone was there to hear a word from God.

I wasn't that good back then but I did know another sure thing. Every sermon had to have three points and a poem to be any good. Sometimes I knew I wasn't very good because I even fell asleep in my own sermon. That too has changed when we finally realized most people never remembered the first two points. The only way anyone can remember the three points is to take notes and that doesn't always work. And this was a sure thing, those that do take notes only have a slim chance to remember it all.

This is what I'm going to leave you with this week; Isaiah said the Messiah was coming (a virgin will have a son) and Jesus showed up 700 years later. Well Jesus told us He would come again. We are now two thousand years later. He comes and shows up every Dec 25th in our hearts, as we await His coming in might and slender yet to come. And we believe Him!

Something to think about

Rob

© 2022 MiltonBaptistChurch. All rights reserved.
Powered by Webnode Cookies
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started