Being You

09/20/2021

Do you know who you really are? I'm asking this because, like many individuals, I have to check in with myself every so often. No, it's not a check list that we make, but it's more about who I am. And it's not about changing to be someone we wish we were or conforming to someone else's idea of who we should be. Too often people change to be a person they think people will like and therefore a friend.

You see, it tells us in the bible that God made us, and He made us perfect in our own way. Just so you know, different is not always bad. I like to look at it this way: God made us just to be us and that included picking our parents that are part of the process of making us. He also is making us us, to accomplish a certain task, (and us church people call that a ministry).

This also includes bringing us into the perfect place and time to live. You were made for today and days like these. You are also perfect in your own special way. And that makes you you. But what does this really mean? It means that He doesn't want you to be influenced to be what you are not, either by yourself or others. I learned a long time ago never to be what I thought people around me would like me to be. It was actually a revelation that I came to when a very beautiful young lady sitting close beside me one day told me to just be myself because that is the person she sees in me that she likes.

My world changed and ever since, I have never lived to impress any other person. I don't even live to impress God, because He already knows who I am and He loves the real me. We need to be the best person He created in us. And of course there is always a verse for every part of life and the one I have for this is 1 Peter 5:6 'Therefore, humble yourselves under the mighty hand of God, so that at the right time He may lift you up'.

Being your true self is something to think about.

Rob

© 2022 MiltonBaptistChurch. All rights reserved.
Powered by Webnode Cookies
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started